We will be staying in Asia for 3 months and I need to use up my kitchen inventory as much as I can. So I challenge myself with this Nomad Kitchen Challenge.

As promised, I will post updates every Tuesday, trying to keep track of my progress, inventory and maybe some recipes within our weekly menu(if my LO doesn’t cry while I’m tying to take food pictures), with calculations of course.

Here is what happened last week. Now let’s see how it went this week.

Week 2: Reverse Meal Plan

If you’ve read my savvy kitchen post, you know one of the strategies that I’m currently doing is ‘reverse meal planning. Wherein meal planning is focused on items you already have in your kitchen, making it more efficient, minimal food waste, requires lesser brain power to think of what you want to eat, and save on grocery bill. And that is exactly how I came up with this week’s meal plan.

Breakfast/lunch

  • (6 servings for DH) workdays combo: homemade pork sausage, Spanish scrambled egg, tomatoes, avocado, refried beans
  • (2 servings for me and DH) offdays combo: homemade hash, bacon, omelet, homemade waffle and cream
  • (3 servings for me) rice with sauteed chayote and ground pork
  • (3 servings for me) rice with sauteed squash, green beans, okra, ground pork
  • (7 servings for me) plain oatmeal and milk or banana

Supper

  • (4 servings= 1 for me + 3 for DH) Beef Teriyaki, sauteed green beans and boiled black beans/rice
  • (4 servings= 1 for me + 3 for DH) Bistec Ranchero, and boiled pinto beans/rice
  • (2 servings for me and DH) Homemade Pizza
  • (2 servings for me) Rice and sauteed chayote and ground pork
  • (2 servings for me) Rice and sauteed squash, green beans, okra, ground pork
  • Fresh pineapple
  • Fresh mangoes

Extras

Few clarifications:

  • If you’re confused why there’s so many servings, that’s because I batch cook.
  • Why there’s so many variations even though I batch cook? Because I love veggies and not a big fan of beef, while my husband is the opposite.
  • Why there’s rice for breakfast? Because I’m Asian and I’d die if I don’t eat it at least twice a day. While my DH has the same affinity for beans, specially now that he’s on the ‘4 hr body diet’
  • What’s the ‘4 hr body diet’? Ask Tim Ferriss (hint: it’s supposed to make you sexy). This is the only diet I know that has weekly “offdays”, that requires you to eat all the good stuff (ice cream, chocolates, chips whatever you like as long as it’s not so healthy), and yes it is required!

As you know, our freezer will be turned off for 3 months, so I made items in it my priority. Especially those not so cheap steakcuts.

From Freezer Inventory

  • 2 round steak
  • 1 sirloin steak
  • 2 slices of round roast

What’s left now

Screenshot 2017-04-04 at 11.56.50 PM
We’re getting there

 

Shopping list/Grocery Bill:

Screenshot 2017-04-04 at 9.02.59 AM
Loving this app.

 

fcba6743d285f802be16ea0ff1906a48

The Verdict:

  1. Use up the inventory. CHECK. I got rid of few steaks.
  2. Adhere to Savvy Kitchen goals:
    1. can still eat what we crave for. CHECK. As you can see, all our palate and diet requirements have been fulfilled.
    2. healthy (right, this is only second). CHECK. Good thing this is somewhat subjective.
    3. cost >$300/mo. CHECK. With $47 grocery bill, looks like we are on the right track.
    4. fun and easy (since it will only take 6 weeks, my inconsistency will be not much of a problem). We’ll see.

We got all goals accomplished except for the last one. Fun, yes it was, but easy not so much. I’m still trying to figure out how to work around the app’s ‘categories’. Maybe I should just disable it. If you have tried this app, maybe you can share how you do it.

So far so good. We’ll see how this goes until the last week.

 

