easiest protein bar

We started looking for an easy protein rich snack since my husband got into Tim Feriss 4 hour body. And since it requires ‘slow carb’, the cheap granola bars in the market doesn’t fit that diet. While typical protein bars are quite expensive so I just have to make our own.

Knowing this it will be a staple in our kitchen, I have to come up with the easiest recipe I can get. This one uses only 3 ingredients and 1 dish. No pot, no baking, no mixer what so ever. You probably noticed the laziness there.

Who can’t resist this protein rich Peanut Bar topped with Dark Chocolate. Perfect for on the go snack to work, school or where ever you like. Just make sure you make it few hours before  if you plan to take it as snack to work, school or where ever.

You can adjust it according to your taste. I usually make 2 versions for my husband who is into ‘4 hour body diet’ and me who is breastfeeding. Like it really packed and solid, add a bit more peanut butter. You can even sprinkle it with  chia seeds before it sets if you want more protein goodness. Sometimes I even add almonds which is good for breastfeeding. Instant lactation bar there mommas.

 

It’s much easier if you can buy cheap pre-chopped peanuts. If not, you can just buy them in whole, throw them in food processor and then store the rest in the fridge.

Cut them into about 2 x 2″ and just place 1 or 2 piece/s in a small container or ziplock when you are ready to go.

I use Pyrex dish and generic peanut butter
I use Pyrex glass and generic peanut butter
peanut bar2
Melt the peanut butter in the microwave
peanut bar3
I added some almonds here. You can use the back of a spoon to mix
peanut bar4
I use less than 50 gms chocolate bars for this batch
peanut bar5
The more the chocolate the easier to spread
peanut bar6
This is my first version with 100 gms chocolate, yum!

What you need:

  • a microwave
  • a spoon
  • a microwave safe dish (about 6 x 6″), preferably with lid for storage
  • knife

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups or 250 grams chopped peanuts
  • 50 grams dark chocolate chopped or dark chocolate chips(or put as much as you like)
  • 2 heaping tbsp or 60 grams peanut butter

Steps:

  1. Place the peanut butter in a microwaveable container. Heat for about 1 minute or until peanut butter is melted.
  2. Add the peanuts and mix it with a spoon. Make sure all the peanuts are cover with peanut butter. Flatten the mixture using the back of the spoon.
  3. Put the dark chocolate pieces on top. Heat in the microwave for 2 minutes or until soft. Use the back of the spoon to spread the chocolate evenly.
  4. Let it set in the fridge for 1 to 2 hours. Then slice according to your desired size.

Serving: 9

  • Peanuts: $0.82/100 g = $2.05
  • Peanut butter: $0.40/100g = $0.20
  • Dark Chocolate: $1/100g = $0.05

 

Savings: Vs commercial dark chocolate protein bar

  • commercial dark chocolate protein bar = $3.98/4 bars
  • homemade = $ 2.30/9 bars
  • 0.99 – 0.26 =  0.735 / savings per bar
  • with average of 2 servings per day= $536/year

 

My husband’s verdict:

Yum, but too much chocolate! Oops. I forgot the diet tries to cut on carbs. But the commercial version has more… those are my excuses. I was eventually forced to reduced his to about 25 gms for the succeeding batches. And of course that means more chocolate for me. Happy hubby, happy wife.

 

My verdict:

Wow, I didn’t even realize we were saving this much with just a few microwaving and stirring. I will definitely add this to my weekly routine, for as long as my DH is on the ‘4-hour-body’ diet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

